FutureQuest, Inc. FutureQuest, Inc. FutureQuest, Inc.

FutureQuest, Inc.
Go Back   FutureQuest Community > General Site Owner Support (All may read/respond) > Open Discussions
User Name
Password  Lost PW

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-30-2002, 10:32 PM   Postid: 68657
JoeRT
Site Owner
 
JoeRT's Avatar

Forum Notability:
38 pts: User-friendly
[Post Feedback]
 
Join Date: Jul 1999
Location: Grants Pass, OR
Posts: 592
ICQ Scam Warning

Within the last couple of weeks, I've received two e-mails that look like they come from ICQ. The from line even says it is from support@icq.com and it uses many ICQ graphics. It says if I don't send my ID and password in the form blanks provided my account will be deleted as ICQ is "...refreshing its databases to delete the inactive accounts."

DON'T BELIEVE IT!

I asked ICQ about it and (as I expected) they said they'd never ask for passwords. Also, if you look at the source code of the e-mail you'll find the form actually sends the information somewhere other than ICQ (mine said http://netomia.com/formmail.cgi?ebenreg... I couldn't find anywhere that ICQ is associated with netomia.com).

If I'm wrong, I guess my ICQ number will be inactive soon... but I doubt it.
__________________
Joe Torsitano
www.weatherforyou.com
JoeRT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2002, 09:29 AM   Postid: 68687
jimbo
Found The New Privilege?
 
jimbo's Avatar

Forum Notability:
125 pts: Helpful Contributor
[Post Feedback]
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: NJ/Metro-NYC
Posts: 1,132
Thanks for the heads up .
__________________
Always remember that you are unique. Just like everybody else.
jimbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2002, 12:47 PM   Postid: 69488
bmedia
Visitor

Forum Notability:
0 pts:
[Post Feedback]
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Jena, Louisiana
Posts: 29
Thanks

Thanks for letting us know. I personally don't care to much for ICQ but I got the same e-mail. I don't know how they were able to get my e-mail

Thanks,
Michael
__________________
ChiChiNet - http://www.chichinet.net
Providing webmasters with affordable web hosting solutions!
bmedia is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 visitors)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:19 AM.


Running on vBulletin®
Copyright © 2000 - 2013, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Hosted & Administrated by FutureQuest, Inc.
Images & content copyright © 1998-2013 FutureQuest, Inc.
FutureQuest, Inc.