FutureQuest, Inc. FutureQuest, Inc. FutureQuest, Inc.

FutureQuest, Inc.
Go Back   FutureQuest Community > General Site Owner Support (All may read/respond) > Email & Mailing List Management
User Name
Password  Lost PW

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-14-2002, 02:14 PM   Postid: 78506
NoahM
Registered User
 
NoahM's Avatar

Forum Notability:
512 pts: Elite Community Guru
[Post Feedback]
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 445
returned mail not from me

I have recently received some returned emails that I did not send. I am not sure who they are going to or if someone is using my info to cover tracks with spam. I am not experienced in reading headers but the full header looks like this:

Return-Path: <Jovoni@4jetconnection.com>
Delivered-To: nmiller@ltponline.com
Received: (fqmail 7428 invoked from network); 14 Dec 2002 00:51:48 -0000
Received: from mx02.futurequest.net (69.5.6.172)
by pt01.futurequest.net (63.151.147.170) with FQDP; 14 Dec 2002 00:51:48 -0000
Received: (qmail 6926 invoked from network); 14 Dec 2002 00:54:45 -0000
Received: from mx02.futurequest.net (69.5.6.172)
by mx02.futurequest.net (69.5.6.172 ); 14 Dec 2002 00:54:45 -0000
Received: from unknown (HELO lakecmmtao03.coxmail.com) (68.99.120.43)
by mx02.futurequest.net (69.5.6.172) with ESMTP; 14 Dec 2002 00:54:45 -0000
Received: from Rhxnhevi ([68.15.187.2]) by lakecmmtao03.coxmail.com
(InterMail vM.5.01.04.05 201-253-122-122-105-20011231) with SMTP
id <20021214004820.NZNV1289.lakecmmtao03.coxmail.com@Rhxnhevi>
for <nmiller@ltponline.com>; Fri, 13 Dec 2002 19:48:20 -0500
From: postmaster <postmaster@ltponline.com>
To: nmiller@ltponline.com
Subject: Returned mail--"cellpadding"
MIME-Version: 1.0
Content-Type: multipart/alternative;
boundary=E08t582t370fXfjd46nee62
Message-Id: <20021214004820.NZNV1289.lakecmmtao03.coxmail.com@Rhxnhevi>
Date: Fri, 13 Dec 2002 19:48:23 -0500

I am not sure if perhaps my computer is sending these out without my knowledge or someone is using my info.
Any help would be greatly appreciated.
NoahM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2002, 05:36 PM   Postid: 78508
 Bruce
Developer
 
Bruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Saskatoon, SK, Canada
Posts: 1,183
From what I can see in the headers, Noah, this is not in fact a real bounce message. Bounce messages are characterized by having an empty envelope sender (visible as the Return-Path: line), and almost always have the From: address in the headers set to either postmaster@ or MAILER-DAEMON@. At this point it looks like a forgery. This message (the return) was sent by a coxmail.com subscriber.

However, I would have to see the full email body to make a complete determination of what exactly happened in this case. If it is a real bounce, it will contain at least the headers of the original message. If the message does not contain anything that you would have a problem with making public, post it here for discussion.
__________________
Bruce Guenter, FutureQuest http://www.FutureQuest.net/ http://untroubled.org/
Bruce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2002, 06:04 PM   Postid: 78509
NoahM
Registered User
 
NoahM's Avatar

Forum Notability:
512 pts: Elite Community Guru
[Post Feedback]
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 445
Bruce,
This is everything in the body when I view the message in Outlook:

The following mail can't be sent to HMonroe1@ci.tucson.az.us:

From: nmiller@ltponline.com
To: HMonroe1@ci.tucson.az.us
Subject: cellpadding
The attachment is the original mail

I am not sure if this helps, but thanks for the help.
NoahM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2002, 06:56 PM   Postid: 78510
PaulKroll
Mostly Harmless
 
PaulKroll's Avatar

Forum Notability:
367 pts: Community Guru
[Post Feedback]
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Chicago, IL,USA
Posts: 1,866
Just off the top of my head, that subject line of "cellpadding" looks suspiciously like one of the generic subjects that Klez uses.

If it >IS< a Klez-virus message, then the chances are good that your (NoahM) machine didn't send it. One of the many ways Klez sends out viruses is faked bounces: it could have been sent from anyone who has your address. (Destination was almost certainly faked too.) If the "original" message has several screens worth of text like "08t582t370fXfjd46nee" (about 70-80 characters across, though) then it's almost certainly Klez. If you can post some of the raw text in the "original" message, or just the name of the attachment (for heavens sake, don't execute the attachment or double-click on it!), that'll probably settle the issue.

The webmaster box at my place of work gets a few of those faked-bounce Klezes each day, out of the 20-30 Klez e-mails it gets.
PaulKroll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2002, 09:58 PM   Postid: 78514
NoahM
Registered User
 
NoahM's Avatar

Forum Notability:
512 pts: Elite Community Guru
[Post Feedback]
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 445
Actually my last post contained everything that was in the email. I am not sure if Outlook or my antivirus removed something, but there are no other clues to post.....
NoahM is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 visitors)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:31 PM.


Running on vBulletin®
Copyright © 2000 - 2013, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Hosted & Administrated by FutureQuest, Inc.
Images & content copyright © 1998-2013 FutureQuest, Inc.
FutureQuest, Inc.