View Full Version : They did it to me again!
angelsonthenet
01-26-2000, 09:31 PM
I noticed none of my images were loading so I checked my whois.[nbsp][nbsp] ADDR has tranfered me back to their server ACK!!!!!
I know you all saw that my whois was all updated to here as of yesterday. How can they just keep going in and making changes to my domain. Is there anything you can do to stop this? I have once again placed a transfer and have asked ADDR to please leave my settings alone and remove me from their server.
angelsonthenet.com
------------------
Wendy
Angels on the Net
http://www.angelsonthenet.com
Dan Kaplan
01-26-2000, 10:47 PM
Speaking from experience, Addr doesn't like to let people leave...[nbsp][nbsp]:([nbsp][nbsp]When's your next payment due?[nbsp][nbsp]I had to call my credit card company and get them to cancel Addr's billing, as Addr wouldn't respond.[nbsp][nbsp]If they're not getting money from you, I'm pretty sure they'll let go.[nbsp][nbsp];)
Dspondent
.
[This message has been edited by JE (edited 01-26-00@10:40 pm)]
Hi...
As I have a real problem with webhosts doing this to poeple,
I feel that this is a violation of some kind, and legal action can be taken in this matter against them.
They have no right what so ever to make changes to someones record if they are not a contact listed.
I though it was NSI's policy to make sure that change templates are received from the listed contact's email address.[nbsp][nbsp]
angels on the net...I think you should contact NSI and notify them of this immediately.
They are legally comitting fraud of some kind by changing your record back to their system when it is obvious they you left them.
I think that there should also be some kind of "freeze" system on a selected host unless the owner changed servers, not allowing anyone like a web host to change you to their service.In the telephone world this is called "slamming".
Thank you
JE
------------------
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
and NOW...to get your FREE eMAIL at the best domain name in the world..simply click below, and you will be hooked up with:
<yourname@blazing-hot.com>
Get it NOW at: www.blazing-hot.com/mail/email.shtml (http://www.blazing-hot.com/mail/email.shtml)
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
[nbsp][nbsp][nbsp][nbsp][nbsp][nbsp][nbsp][nbsp][nbsp][nbsp][nbsp][nbsp][nbsp][nbsp][nbsp][nbsp][nbsp][nbsp][nbsp][nbsp][nbsp][nbsp][nbsp][nbsp][nbsp][nbsp][nbsp][nbsp][nbsp][nbsp][nbsp][nbsp][nbsp][nbsp][nbsp][nbsp][nbsp][nbsp]BLAZING-HOT.COM™ 2000
[This message has been edited by JE (edited 01-26-00@10:43 pm)]
Dan Kaplan
01-27-2000, 12:00 AM
Ever notice the Addr ads plastered all over NSI?[nbsp][nbsp];)
Dtective
pridetech
01-27-2000, 12:13 AM
Hi,
I may be wrong about this. It is not very safe to use the 'MAIL-FROM' method for authentication. It will be difficult for the webhost to transfer a domain if the owner uses a password or PGP protection. I used to have lots of problems till I changed my authentication method to 'CRYPT-PW'
<edit>
This may be helpful.
http://www.networksolutions.com/help/guardian.html
</edit>
------------------
http://www.freesoftware.org
[This message has been edited by pridetech (edited 01-26-00@11:29 pm)]
angelsonthenet
01-27-2000, 10:29 AM
Thanks so much for your advice! I have gone and updated mine to use the CRYPT-PW. Maybe now my domain will be safe.*G*
I am still waiting for it to be changed back over to FQ.:)
Thanks again.:)
------------------
Wendy
Angels on the Net
http://www.angelsonthenet.com
vBulletin® v3.6.8, Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.