frankc
10-17-2000, 11:25 AM
Good grief.[nbsp][nbsp]I just got a fax from "Electronic Domain Name Monitoring" at ednm.net headed, "URGENT NOTICE OF IDENTICAL DOMAIN NAME APPLICATION BY A THIRD PARTY" (caps are theirs).
Some lawyerly-worded mumbo-jumbo pops up over the main website page.
Harumph.[nbsp][nbsp]My bet is that they check to see what DNs are available and then fax an inference to a similar-named DN owner that the domain is about to be registered by another, potentially for fraudulent purposes, and points you to register it before someone else gets it:[nbsp][nbsp]..."CONSEQUENTLY IT IS OUR OPINION THAT THIS APPLICATION MAY BE SUBMITTED IN BAD FAITH FOR ONE OR MORE OF THE FOLLOWING REASONS:"...
It follows, "YOU ARE REQUIRED TO SUBMIT TO US YOUR OPPOSITION TO THE THIRD PARTY DOMAIN NAME REGISTRATION CONTEMPLATED HEREIN AND EXPRESSLY ADVISE US OF YOUR INTENT TO LICENSE THIS DOMAIN NAME PRIOR TO THE EXPIRATION OF THIS NOTICE".[nbsp][nbsp]The notice is dated 10/17 and the deadline is 10/18.
"Contemplated"?[nbsp][nbsp]What fraud.[nbsp][nbsp]The DN they mention is freely available to anyone.
There's no place on their website to register a DN, but I'm betting that an email via one of the links there will getcha pointed to a DN registration form.
For website newbies, ignore this fax if you get one.
[nbsp][nbsp]Frank
==scumsuckers everywhere!==
Some lawyerly-worded mumbo-jumbo pops up over the main website page.
Harumph.[nbsp][nbsp]My bet is that they check to see what DNs are available and then fax an inference to a similar-named DN owner that the domain is about to be registered by another, potentially for fraudulent purposes, and points you to register it before someone else gets it:[nbsp][nbsp]..."CONSEQUENTLY IT IS OUR OPINION THAT THIS APPLICATION MAY BE SUBMITTED IN BAD FAITH FOR ONE OR MORE OF THE FOLLOWING REASONS:"...
It follows, "YOU ARE REQUIRED TO SUBMIT TO US YOUR OPPOSITION TO THE THIRD PARTY DOMAIN NAME REGISTRATION CONTEMPLATED HEREIN AND EXPRESSLY ADVISE US OF YOUR INTENT TO LICENSE THIS DOMAIN NAME PRIOR TO THE EXPIRATION OF THIS NOTICE".[nbsp][nbsp]The notice is dated 10/17 and the deadline is 10/18.
"Contemplated"?[nbsp][nbsp]What fraud.[nbsp][nbsp]The DN they mention is freely available to anyone.
There's no place on their website to register a DN, but I'm betting that an email via one of the links there will getcha pointed to a DN registration form.
For website newbies, ignore this fax if you get one.
[nbsp][nbsp]Frank
==scumsuckers everywhere!==