View Full Version : They are snide, I am worried
Bi4Be
05-01-1999, 10:46 AM
Hi everyone!
I know this isn't too FQ related, and I hope I don't offend anyone, but here goes. I have a client who needs very basic hosting services, etc. and doesn't need anything big and fancy like the developer here at FQ. Only thing is, I don't know who to choose! Right now I have pretty much pin pointed[nbsp][nbsp]www.westhost.com (http://www.westhost.com) with cheap service and SMALL options compared to FQ.
They have good service and everything my client needs, but when I ask them about who becomes the Registrant at Internic they keep talking about how I will become the "Admin" contact and all. I've already tossed e-mails with them back and forth 3-5 times now, and they keep giving me snide remarks like "Since you seemed to be overly worried about everything" and stuff.
I am just precautious as I have had 2 valuable domain names stolen from me this way. And if I use Register.com and just transfer it over, they'll most likely end up changing the Registrant to them.
Bah! to all cheap hosting companies, who feel the need to cheat their customers to keep them there!
What do you all say? If this is the wrong place to discuss this just tell me (kindly, with no snide-nessity :)). Does ADDR do the same thing?
-Bi4Be
PS: FQ is so awesome. I am reminded of that time and time again, this has to be one of those times! :D
You might want to give www.dids.com (http://www.dids.com) a try.. they are fairly new and trying very hard to plz their clients.. could work out in your favor...
G'luck to you :)
Deb
gwlubin
05-01-1999, 01:29 PM
i stumbled across these two cheapies, can't vouch for them
www.invite.com (http://www.invite.com) @ $3.00/mth
&
www.addr.com (http://www.addr.com)
if you do check these out let me know if you think they are kosher.
g/
Terra
05-02-1999, 01:22 PM
Benson, a sidenote -- I have seen one too many hosting companies place themselves as Admin and Tech, and putting the site owner as billing on new Internic records...
This is how they can hold a domain hostage for non-payment (or whatever else)...
I see more and more hosting companies doing this lately...[nbsp][nbsp]I seriously doubt that FutureQuest will ever play a role in this situation as we haven't been burned to badly for 'Host Hoppers'...
What it forces the domain owner to do, when they don't have Admin or Tech, is go the looooooooooooong route of Internic faxing to prove their Registrant credentials...[nbsp][nbsp]It's a very painful/frustrating process to complete successfully...
--
Terra
--What's my line?--
FutureQuest
Benson
05-03-1999, 12:20 AM
I am just precautious as I have had 2 valuable domain names stolen from me this way.
[nbsp][nbsp][nbsp][nbsp][nbsp][nbsp][nbsp][nbsp][nbsp][nbsp][nbsp][nbsp][nbsp][nbsp][nbsp][nbsp][nbsp][nbsp] And if I use Register.com and just transfer it over, they'll most likely end up changing the
[nbsp][nbsp][nbsp][nbsp][nbsp][nbsp][nbsp][nbsp][nbsp][nbsp][nbsp][nbsp][nbsp][nbsp][nbsp][nbsp][nbsp][nbsp] Registrant to them.
Maybe I'm too naieve, but I thought that if your client was set up as admin and billing, and you were technical, then how would the company change anything without your or your client's approval?
------------------
Vac '99: New Orleans AND redwoods!
auteur
05-04-1999, 03:01 PM
That's odd, I went to see what www.dids.com (http://www.dids.com) was and click the link above. All I got was "270 (0x0000010e)" on the all white page. ...very confused. But c'est la vie, I'm happy here. I was just curious.
Benson: I've seen host companies do the same. I've seen them deny domains transfers on fully paid accounts. It can be a scary game. That's why a person/company should really investigate a company before going with anyone. Which is also, why I won't leave FQ. :)
------------------
Elizabeth M. Miller
Getting You the Attention You Deserve!
www.123marketing.com (http://www.123marketing.com)
Bi4Be
05-04-1999, 07:26 PM
I checked out DIDS, looks like a good place. Except for the fact that they never responded to my Registrant question. :( At least they spruced up their site a bit from those horrid shades of grey. *sigh*
auteur/Elizabeth: Which is also, why I won't leave FQ. :)
Nor shall I! *EVER!!!* :D FQ is the greatest host out there! THE home for a developer!!! :)
Unfortunately, my client needs 10 dollar hosting with minimal features... :(
But don't worry FQ! I am sure (I think) that I'll bring most/all of my clients over here! Now if you guys could just set up a Referral Program... *really evil grin* :D
-Bi4Be
[This message has been edited by Bi4Be (edited 05-04-99)]
Bi4Be
05-04-1999, 09:21 PM
OK, I checked out ADDR.COM and they seemd kosher to me. A fast response and quick n' kind answer... pretty straight forward.
But their bandwidth is something that I am not sure is enough for my client.
I am off to go look at invite.com ($3 seems a little fishy) and then do alittle Tae Bo. Hey, a geek needs SOME sort of exercise and/or movement in his or her day! It is just that I prefer it inside... errrrr, in the air conditioning... ummm, for the shortest amount of time possible! :D
-Bi4Be
UPDATE: Change of plans, Invite.com doesn't work... and the PJ's are on tee vee :D
[This message has been edited by Bi4Be (edited 05-04-99)]
hearts
05-04-1999, 09:57 PM
what about http://www.dreamhost.com/personal/
They have a package called CRAZY DOMAIN INSANE. Their web site is as blue as these forums! ;)
good luck to your client.
---------------
hearts
-----
Bi4Be
05-06-1999, 10:39 PM
OK, I ran DIDS.COM by my client and he said "he knew them" so that is who I ended up with. They also ended up finally e-mailing me back stating that they don't do the domain hostage thingy.
Toodles and thanks,
-Bi4Be
vBulletin® v3.6.8, Copyright ©2000-2013, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.