PDA

View Full Version : SMTP Question


Rich
03-07-1999, 05:06 PM
Is anyone familiar with the SMTP error message 550: relaying denied? I am getting these sometimes and am trying to determine if:
(1) it is due to a filter at the receiving end, or,
(2) it is due to a configuration on the SMTP server I am using.

Anyone know?

Thanks.
Rich

Terra
03-07-1999, 05:30 PM
From the FQuest QMail server?

--Terra

Rich
03-07-1999, 05:39 PM
From the FQuest QMail server?
No, using another server (I have a few). Switching to the QMail server when this occured resolved the problem, temporarily. Just trying to understand its cause.

Rich

Terra
03-07-1999, 08:13 PM
Most MTA's have a list of hosts they will relay mail for, called 'receipt host' list...

Sounds like you are trying to do:
From: user@aaaaa.net --> MTA --> To: user@zzzz.net

would result in 550 error...

But the MTA is only setup to send mail from 'user@bbbbb.com'...

From user@bbbbb.com --> MTA --> To: user@zzzz.net

would work properly since it has 'bbbb.com' in its receipt hosts list...

In the old days (before SPaMMeRs), MTA's would happily accept and send anyone's mail... That case is no longer true as SPAM has forced sysAdmins to lock down their MTA's... It makes my job a major nightmare, since we now have to do things that MTA's weren't orginally designed for...

QMail was a step in the right direction... http://www.aota.net/ubb/smile.gif

--
Terra
--d*mn spaMMers, scum of the internet--
FutureQuest.net

PS: for an interesting view: http://www.futurequest.net/cgi-bin/Spammers/no-harvest.pl
This program protects *everyone's* domain hosted on FQuest from email address siphoning/harvesting...

Rich
03-07-1999, 08:37 PM
Yes, that is what is happening. I use two isp's, neither of which will allow me to send mail when using the other http://www.aota.net/ubb/frown.gif

Rather than always and tediously changing my email reader's configuration, I use one of my web sites smtp server to send mail. The one I usually use allows smtp requests from an ip that has previously used the pop, thus eliminating "meat-in-a-can" througput.

However, from your description, I assume that the receiving MTA can also check the headers to observe if the relay occurs and reject the transmission also thereby generating an error 550?

btw, the isp that I've exerienced this trouble with is ibm.net which, in days gone by, was a hotbed for spammers. I'm not sure this is true anymore, but I have noticed that some sites have blocks on things like "ibm.net" or "hotmail.com". Unfortunately, this approach is like removing your telephone because you have received obscene phone calls. If you run a business, this is suicide.

Rich