PDA

View Full Version : WHY NO PHONE TO CALL? - HIDING??


twofus
03-26-1999, 02:37 PM
I was amazed at all the wonderful talk on the web pages and when I went to call the organization I see there isn't a phone number listed anywhere.. seems to me that if you are legitimate and plan to stay that way, that you would offer a contact point for your clients or future clients..

I see in Internic you only JUST registered..

I see in whois you only have a PO Box for an address..

Further digging shows your tru name to be: Marchant Business Services Inc
14119 W.Newberry Rd
Newberry, FL 32669
US

Netname: SPRINT-CDF4BB
Netblock: 205.244.184.0 - 205.244.187.0

Coordinator:
Marchant, Jim (JM768-ARIN) [No mailbox]


amazingly you have no e-mail address or phone number and further digging seems to imply that you are either attempting to impersonate this individual:
http://www.fispa.org/fispa_president.html
or you are this individual and for some reason not disclosing it...

Want to come clean for us all please?

Thank you,

Possible Reseller..

Paul
03-26-1999, 03:01 PM
Uh.. Deb, Andrew..?

May I have permission to FLAME?

-------------------------------
Paul

Deb
03-26-1999, 03:12 PM
Hello 'twofus'

seems to me that if you are legitimate and plan to stay that way, that you would offer a contact point for your clients or future clients..
Our phone number is listed in various places on the Net including within the whois information that you took the time to look up. For contact information our users will find the info they need in the user manual at www.FutureQuest.net/UserManual/ (http://www.FutureQuest.net/UserManual/)

We do offer phone support when needed but discourage it due to costs and the small size of FutureQuest as a company.

We try to make the need for phone support minimal by offering a great response time via email and forums.

I see in Internic you only JUST registered..
Internic no longer shows the registration date within their whois lookups. What you are seeing is the last time the domain name was modified. With our current upgrades we have added more nameservers and with that came the need to modify the domain names to show the updated information.

I see in whois you only have a PO Box for an address..

FutureQuest is run out of various areas. Two servers in two separate offices within Gainesville Florida along with the majority of the administrative work being run out of our home office in Ocala Florida. We have chosen not to advertise our home address to the masses, though those who have a need would have no problem obtaining it.

Further digging shows your tru name to be: Marchant Business Services Inc

I would hope you do not depend on whois info and traceroutes to find the true identity of a business? We work very closely with Jim Marchant as our upstream provider. This is no secret but in no way implies that they are us or we are them. Marchant Services offers a different type of service then we do. We will be working with Jim for a long time into the future. He is a great man with an awesome company! To see their web site you may want to view www.maxaccess.net/ (http://www.maxaccess.net/) If you are in need of Voice Over IP or Digital Telephony Services I would highly recommend you check them out.

amazingly you have no e-mail address or phone number

With all of the digging you seem to imply you have done I'm a bit shocked that you could not find our email address or phone number. Home Page- www.FutureQuest.net (http://www.FutureQuest.net) visiting the contact form will get you started. Along with the UserManual as noted above and the phone number being listed in the whois records.

further digging seems to imply that you are either attempting to impersonate this individual:


We are quite proud to have a relationship with Jim Marchant! He is an excellent individual who has been awesome to work with! I could only hope to impersonate a man such as him as to even compare would show that we have truly succeeded!

Want to come clean for us all please?

FutureQuest is an honest business offering an honest service. If you should have more questions or concerns feel free to email me. I find your post to be offensive, unprofessional, inaccurate, and it shows a lack of thoroughly investigating our business before coming to your conclusions. There are ways to find out about companies and to assure that they are legal in their practices. I highly recommend that you do not depend on sources that are not there for these reasons as your source of information.

I hope this helps demystify your information.

Possible Reseller..

I must also note that, due to the practices you have shown here, you are not the type of rep we would want reselling the FutureQuest services. Customer service is a high priority and to be the type who is quick to flame and accuse without first making sure your accusations are correct, in the manner you have, is *not* the way we work. You may want to check out www.hostsearch.com (http://www.hostsearch.com) as they now have a whole area opened for resellers searching for a host.


Deb

Jacob Stetser
03-26-1999, 03:37 PM
Wow...

Twofus- I've been with this host since November, and if they had any intent to defraud I'm sure I'd have experienced some sort of problems with them by now.

To the contrary, I have had four months of nearly rock-solid hosting, and since the slight growing pains they experienced in January, I've not had meaningful downtime!

Their support is wonderful, the forums are great, and although I would like FQ to host an announcement list for when problems/upgrades do occur, I have never needed to call them. Some people do, and Deb and Andrew _do_ make their phone number available for that purpose.

But Deb covered that already. I just want to say that your quick judgment against FQ is unwarranted and not based in any sound judgment- all the information you dug up against FQ was due to your original jumping to conclusions that this host is a sham.

I invite you to read the forums here, to look through the list of hosted sites (by no means complete, btw- FQ hosts a LOT of sites http://www.aota.net/ubb/smile.gif ) at http://www.futurequest.net/List.php , I think.

You'll see something that should convince you of two things. #1, there are a LOT of happy customers here and #2, there's no way this place could be a hoax or a sham- with all the different sites, it's just too much work to fake it all.

[This message has been edited by Jacob Stetser (edited 03-26-99).]

hearts
03-26-1999, 03:40 PM
you must be either bored, or make a hobby of "ass-uming" accusations! As a reseller of FQ and one who is hosted here, I think I am entitled to tell ya what I think of your "post".

If you were in the slightest professional, you would have used a bit of disgression in the way you went about your inquiries... IF YOU WERE ACTUALLY a possible reseller, then you would have definitely showed some manners.

A reseller or a trouble maker? I place my bets that you had no intentions of reselling, and that you were hoping to raise a few tempers, and quite possibly, this thread could end up locked, cuz we here at FQ are very protective of FutureQuest! Not only are happy, we trust Deb and Andrew. Can you even say you trust yourself that much?

Proud to be here, and happy to see ya leave as quick as ya posted!


[This message has been edited by hearts (edited 03-26-99).]

hearts
03-26-1999, 04:02 PM
JAKE.............

and although I would like FQ to host an announcement list for when problems/upgrades do occur, ...

you been here long enough to know that is here already.. "Server News" .. "alpha/beta/gama" ...

I "personally" feel, FQ holds NOTHING back.

Jacob Stetser
03-26-1999, 04:12 PM
hearts http://www.aota.net/ubb/smile.gif

I know about that.. I mean a mailing list, for when AOTA.net is down, which is rare, but happens occasionally.

Jake

auteur
03-26-1999, 04:15 PM
Well, I will say one thing...

This looks like a flamer to me...not a true inquiry. He uses all the tools of a flamer, all the same verbage and same intent...to cause trouble. twofus go back to the newsgroups. These type of posts are not wanted here.

I wouldn't even waste any more time on this thread and Deb, Andrew, my suggestion ... close this thread. It's a waste of resources. To continue it would just entice MR/MS twofus who leaves no contact info.

Terra
03-26-1999, 04:24 PM
enough said... We have no need to defend ourselves... FQuest is built upon integrity and excellence in customer service... If that doesn't show - then you have not looked hard enough... http://www.aota.net/ubb/wink.gif

--
Terra
--Wearing flame retardent underwear--
FutureQuest