View Full Version : 69.5.21.2 blacklisted by spamhaus error
RickB
02-03-2006, 10:21 PM
Hi,
I've been having problems emailing since last night, and need some advice. I'm getting the failure notice back with the following:
<person@domain.com>:
66.206.163.83 does not like recipient.
Remote host said: 550 5.7.1 <person@domain.com>... Rejected: 69.5.21.2 listed at xbl.spamhaus.org Giving up on 66.206.163.83.
http://www.spamhaus.org/query/bl?ip=69.5.21.2
I've received the notice when I've tried to send an email to work, to a friend, and to my wife (all of whom I've sent emails in the past). I've read the information at the link, but still don't quite know what I should do. I send out very few emails, and none that could be confused with spam!
Thank you for any advice,
Rick
sheila
02-04-2006, 12:10 AM
Rick, the IP address 69.5.21.2 is the IP address for the ENIGMA server. Your email should not be sent out from that IP address, but should be sent from the IP address assigned to your domain. If the emails were being sent from your own web site's IP address, you would not encounter this problem.
The blacklist responsible for this problem is the CBL Blacklist (http://cbl.abuseat.org). FutureQuest has been monitoring the situation with this blacklist, and we are trying to do what we can to keep the servers out of this blacklist. The problem is that the CBL maintainers will not provide us with any useful information to allow us to discover what is causing these listings so that we can prevent them from recurring. It is easy to get de-listed, but sometimes the servers are re-listed very quickly. As a point in fact, when you first posted this message tonight, none of our servers were listed. As I worked on composing a reply to this post, several of our servers were re-listed in the CBL list.
Servers listed in the CBL list are also listed in SpamHaus, which includes CBL.
This situation would not affect you at all, however, if your emails were being sent from the IP address assigned to your web site.
If you send your outbound email through the SMTP server FutureQuest has provided for you for example.com, then you need to ensure that the email is sent FROM an email address either at example.com or one of it's IROs or IRMs. As long as it is sent from the hosted email address, it will be sent from your IP address. However, if you are sending FROM an email address that is not hosted on that server, then it will be sent from the server IP address and you may encounter problems of this sort.
RickB
02-04-2006, 01:50 AM
Thank you, that helped me find the problem. I have multiple domains with Futurequest. For some reason, my email client for my kidville.com account was using my everyonelearns.com smtp settings. I'm not sure how that happened (and has probably been like that for a long while), but I've fixed it. Thanks again for quick and informative reply!
sheila
02-04-2006, 01:58 AM
Very good. :QTthumb:
Glad to be able to help out...
vBulletin® v3.6.8, Copyright ©2000-2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.