View Full Version : blacklisted?
Andilinks
02-16-2005, 01:26 PM
I just received this in an email from another FQ client (who may or may not chime in here...):
Thought I should also mention that your
emails are coming through as listed on a couple of blacklists
according to Spam Assassin: RCVD_IN_NJABL_DUL, RCVD_IN_SORBS_DUL.
Not sure whether that's an FQ problem or ISP problem though. (For
all I know, my own emails are probably on the same blacklists.)
Anyway, thought I'd mention it.
What does this mean?
Andi
Terra
02-16-2005, 01:30 PM
Can't really say without seeing the full headers... :(
--
Terra
--wonders what is down in the rabbit hole--
FutureQuest
Andilinks
02-16-2005, 01:41 PM
OK, I'll get them...
Arthur
02-16-2005, 02:05 PM
I took a peek at the SpamAssassin configs - DUL is short for Dynamic User List. Your (ISP's) IP address is listed in the "dynablocks" of njabl.org and sorbs.net, that list dynamic (as opposed to static) IP address blocks.
Because spam is more likely to come from dynamic IP addresses, SpamAssassin does these checks. These are not blacklists, as such.
See;
http://www.njabl.org/dynablock.html
http://www.dnsbl.au.sorbs.net/faq/dul.shtml
Type in your IP address to check if your IP address is blacklisted;
http://openrbl.org/
Arthur
Andilinks
02-16-2005, 03:04 PM
I get this...
Lookup 24.13.141.203 (c-24-13-141-203.client.comcast.net) in 20+9 Zones
AS: 24.0.0.0/12 AS6172 HomeCorp Redwood City/California
Net 24/8 NET24 Chantilly, Virginia
Results: Positive=6, Negative=22, Timeouts=1 (2005-02-16 20:01:12 UTC)
@DYNAMIC/dialup: 24.13/16: 553 ADSL/CABLE/DIALUP ADSL NETBLK-ATHOME 24.0.0.0/12;
SORBS DUL
@SPAM/spamsource: 24.13.141/24: 553 SPEWS [1] comcast/attbi, see http://spews.org/ask.cgi?S2963
SORBS/sorbs.net: 24.13/16: 553 SORBS DUL [Remove]
SPEWS/spews.org: 24.13.141/24: 553 SPEWS2 [1] comcast/attbi, see http://spews.org/ask.cgi?S2963
FIVETEN/24.12.177.155.comcast.net.misc.spam: miscellaneous address blocks that have sent spam here
SPAMBAG/comcast: Blocked - see http://www.spambag.org/cgi-bin/spambag?mailfrom=comcast
Negative 22: @COUNTRY @ISP AHBL AUDNSBL BOGONS BOPM CBL DRBL DSBL INTERSIL JIPPGMA LNSG NJABL NOMORE ORDB PSBL SBL SPAMCOP SPAMRBL SPAMSITE UCEPROT WPBL
Timeouts 1: RFC_IPWH
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Hints for 24.13.141.203: (external, use BACK or ALT-LEFT when done)
Track "c-24-13-141-203.client.comcast.net" at [Whois & Abuse|SpamCop*]
Search "24.13.141.203" at [Google|SpamCop*|SenderBase] [MAPS|Schlund]
CHECK: Nominate Relay-Test at: [ORDB] [Add Comment]
If they are blacklisting Comcast then I suppose everyone is blacklisted. That means the blacklist is useless. Spammers win again. sigh.
Andi
cindik
02-16-2005, 03:22 PM
Ins the war against spam, there is bound to be some collateral damage.
Syneryder
02-17-2005, 12:58 AM
ERkk, I'm a bit late with this, sorry. Do you still need the full headers? It sounds like Arthur has explained what's going on, and that they aren't really blacklists, and that I've been silly for making my email highlight (in bright spammy pink) any email with RCVD_IN_NJABL_DUL or RCVD_IN_SORBS_DUL in the headers :) The emails were getting through okay, I just hadn't realized they weren't spam lists.
Andilinks
02-17-2005, 01:16 AM
Email marketing evangelist Chris Pirillo has now declared that email is dead as a marketing vehicle, maybe there's light at the end of the tunnel...
http://www.imediaconnection.com/content/5085.asp
Spammers win again. sigh.
Ain't that the truth. :( I just got a project inquiry; responded to it and got this bounce response:
209.237.226.186 does not like recipient.
Remote host said: 550 5.0.0 <***@fly.com>... We don't accept mail from spammers
And I've had my support forum closed the past couple days because it's being hit so heavily by automated spammers...
Dan
vBulletin® v3.6.8, Copyright ©2000-2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.