PDA

View Full Version : Scam-Internet Corporation Listing Service


ryount
05-30-2003, 02:07 PM
Just got what looked like an invoice for some search engine listing service for $37.50. In the corner it says "This notice is a solication and receipt of payment will confirm your annual listing". Doing a bit of research I found that the address is at a Mailbox Etc. in San Jose, CA. Just when the domain renewal mailings die down something new shows up. I bet quite a few people fall for this as it's such a small amount.

Website: http://www.icls.net/

PaulKroll
05-30-2003, 02:51 PM
Just another in a long line of such things. I got one of those too, recently. Also it includes those special extras, like submission to search engines, and, I think, a star named after one of your pets and business consulting using their handheld spherical decision system. ("Answer unclear, ask again later.")

Randall
05-30-2003, 03:07 PM
I just threw one of those out yesterday.

Much more entertaining was the email claiming to be from c2it, Citibank's Paypal-type service (which I don't subscribe to):
c2it is currently performing regular maintenance of our security measures. Your account has been randomly selected for this maintenance, and placed on Hold status. Protecting the security of your c2it account is our primary concern, and we apologize for any inconvenience this may cause.

To restore your account to its regular status, you must confirm your email address by logging in to your c2it account using the form:
Naturally, this "handy form" asks for my card number & expiration, security code, date of birth, social security number and mother's maiden name.

What's really stupid is that Citi doesn't post any email addresses on their web site, so I can't forward this to the fraud department.

Randall

Daytripper_MI6
05-31-2003, 10:46 AM
Well, well, what do you know, i just got my mail from yesterday and here is the exact invoice you are talking about %) Spam and junk mail, it goes on and on........