JoeRT
05-30-2002, 10:32 PM
Within the last couple of weeks, I've received two e-mails that look like they come from ICQ. The from line even says it is from support@icq.com and it uses many ICQ graphics. It says if I don't send my ID and password in the form blanks provided my account will be deleted as ICQ is "...refreshing its databases to delete the inactive accounts."
DON'T BELIEVE IT! :police:
I asked ICQ about it and (as I expected) they said they'd never ask for passwords. Also, if you look at the source code of the e-mail you'll find the form actually sends the information somewhere other than ICQ (mine said http://netomia.com/formmail.cgi?ebenreg... I couldn't find anywhere that ICQ is associated with netomia.com).
If I'm wrong, I guess my ICQ number will be inactive soon... but I doubt it. :P
DON'T BELIEVE IT! :police:
I asked ICQ about it and (as I expected) they said they'd never ask for passwords. Also, if you look at the source code of the e-mail you'll find the form actually sends the information somewhere other than ICQ (mine said http://netomia.com/formmail.cgi?ebenreg... I couldn't find anywhere that ICQ is associated with netomia.com).
If I'm wrong, I guess my ICQ number will be inactive soon... but I doubt it. :P