MG Doran
05-24-2000, 02:09 PM
Hello my fellow FutureQuesterians - I need advice.
A client's site has been spidered by hotrate.com.
I hadn't heard of it before.
She forwarded the following email to me because she thought it was odd. I think so too because:
[nbsp][nbsp][nbsp][nbsp][nbsp]- it contains the user-id for the site
[nbsp][nbsp][nbsp][nbsp][nbsp]- it emails to "cgi-bin@ambedois.com"
The cgi-bin is dissallowed in robots.txt (assuming this is relevent).
[nbsp][nbsp][nbsp][nbsp][nbsp]- there were actually 2 emails, the other being a negative review of the site. It appears that Editors/Reviewers earn money for doing reviews.
I've never seen a "Congratulations" email before which contains the user-id for the site.
Is there reason to be concerned?
Thanks everyone - I'm looking forward to you opinions!
Roxie
<aka MG Doran>
---------------------------------------------------------------------
>X-Envelope-From: webmaster@hotrate.com Tue May 23 01:48:36 2000
>Delivered-To: xambedois-UserIDWasHere@ambedois.com
>Delivered-To: xambedois-cgi-bin@ambedois.com
>Subject: Congratulations from hotrate.com
>Sender: "webmaster@hotrate.com" <webmaster@hotrate.com>
>From: "webmaster@hotrate.com" <webmaster@hotrate.com>
>Date: Mon, 22 May 2000 23:49:19 -0700
>To: "cgi-bin@ambedois.com" <cgi-bin@ambedois.com>
>X-Mailer: JMail 3.7.0 by Dimac (www.dimac.net <http://www.dimac.net/>)
>X-MIME-Autoconverted: from Quoted-Printable to 8bit by onyx.southwind.net id BAA17610
>
>Congratulations!
>
>Your site <http://www.ambedois.com/cgi-bin/ABDIstore/ABDIstore.cgi?page=index.htmlcart_id=> was successfully submitted at hotrate.com (<http://www.hotrate.com/>), the web's most relevant search engine!
>You can find your site in hotrate.com at <http://www.hotrate.com/navitem.asp?id=52312>
>Our thousands of editors and reviewers will now start to analyze your website, and provide you with immediate feedback.
>
>Sign up as an editor at <http://www.hotrate.com/neweditor.asp> to add other sites to the directory or modify your site's listing.
>
>Or start reviewing yourself by joining us as a reviewer at <http://www.hotrate.com/newreviewer.asp>
>
>Best regards,
>Hotrate.com
>
>-----------------------------------------
>This e-mail was automatically generated by our review agent software. If you do not wish to be informed about future reviews of your site, please reply with subject "Remove Webmaster".
>----------------------------------------->[nbsp]
A client's site has been spidered by hotrate.com.
I hadn't heard of it before.
She forwarded the following email to me because she thought it was odd. I think so too because:
[nbsp][nbsp][nbsp][nbsp][nbsp]- it contains the user-id for the site
[nbsp][nbsp][nbsp][nbsp][nbsp]- it emails to "cgi-bin@ambedois.com"
The cgi-bin is dissallowed in robots.txt (assuming this is relevent).
[nbsp][nbsp][nbsp][nbsp][nbsp]- there were actually 2 emails, the other being a negative review of the site. It appears that Editors/Reviewers earn money for doing reviews.
I've never seen a "Congratulations" email before which contains the user-id for the site.
Is there reason to be concerned?
Thanks everyone - I'm looking forward to you opinions!
Roxie
<aka MG Doran>
---------------------------------------------------------------------
>X-Envelope-From: webmaster@hotrate.com Tue May 23 01:48:36 2000
>Delivered-To: xambedois-UserIDWasHere@ambedois.com
>Delivered-To: xambedois-cgi-bin@ambedois.com
>Subject: Congratulations from hotrate.com
>Sender: "webmaster@hotrate.com" <webmaster@hotrate.com>
>From: "webmaster@hotrate.com" <webmaster@hotrate.com>
>Date: Mon, 22 May 2000 23:49:19 -0700
>To: "cgi-bin@ambedois.com" <cgi-bin@ambedois.com>
>X-Mailer: JMail 3.7.0 by Dimac (www.dimac.net <http://www.dimac.net/>)
>X-MIME-Autoconverted: from Quoted-Printable to 8bit by onyx.southwind.net id BAA17610
>
>Congratulations!
>
>Your site <http://www.ambedois.com/cgi-bin/ABDIstore/ABDIstore.cgi?page=index.htmlcart_id=> was successfully submitted at hotrate.com (<http://www.hotrate.com/>), the web's most relevant search engine!
>You can find your site in hotrate.com at <http://www.hotrate.com/navitem.asp?id=52312>
>Our thousands of editors and reviewers will now start to analyze your website, and provide you with immediate feedback.
>
>Sign up as an editor at <http://www.hotrate.com/neweditor.asp> to add other sites to the directory or modify your site's listing.
>
>Or start reviewing yourself by joining us as a reviewer at <http://www.hotrate.com/newreviewer.asp>
>
>Best regards,
>Hotrate.com
>
>-----------------------------------------
>This e-mail was automatically generated by our review agent software. If you do not wish to be informed about future reviews of your site, please reply with subject "Remove Webmaster".
>----------------------------------------->[nbsp]