PDA

View Full Version : Question


alexandra
04-02-1999, 11:01 PM
I don't know if this is the right place to post this, so sorry if I'm wrong.

Checking the "urls" page in our stats today, I found several pages ending in vti.cnf. When I clicked on the link, I got what I fondly believe to be the Notepad version of that page. (I am HTML innocent.)

My site was created with Front Page. When I moved to FQ, I redid the site in PageMill. The copy of the site on my hard drive does not have the vti.cnf thingy, whatever it is. The copy on server does.

So I guess I have two questions.

One, can I delete the ****ed things? There's one in every "directory" ("little folders" to me)

Two, how are people getting into this? Are they stealing the code? Is this something I should worry about?

Alexandra

Justin
04-03-1999, 02:06 AM
Those are Front Page things - all unneeded. I'd just delete them. Oh, if someone wants to see your code all they have to do is View --> Source http://www.aota.net/ubb/smile.gif

------------------
Justin Nelson
FutureQuest Support

alexandra
04-03-1999, 03:26 AM
Thanks, Justin. I've wanted to delete them and have been afraid to -- or even to experiment.

I knew about seeing the Code through "View." I wondered if this vti.cnf thing let them do something to the code -- or that they were trying to do something to the code. Still not sure how they got to that, unless they typed in that specific url (www.balletalert.com/meetingroom/vti.conf)

And then -- why? (That may not be a question worth answering!)

Thanks again.

Alexandra